Ningbo Industrial Design & Creative Center

Looking Back Through History and Forward Through Design

The site of the Ningbo Industrial Design & Creative Center is located in Ningbo, China on the southeastern bank of the Yong Jiang River which is part of the Yangtze River Delta. The site was once an industrial plant housing a prosperous textile mill which took advantage of the convenient river transportation. Today, after years of neglect, the main production building and most of the support buildings are gone; only the chimney, one of the warehouses, and the original owner’s villa are left on the site. These structures tell the story of the Ningbo textile legend.

The concept for the design of the center integrates a new industrial design and creative center with the remnants old textile factory in order to revive the memory of the glorious past. The center is specially designed to display all the items which won the International Award for Industrial Design. The rest of the programs within the center consist of a Chinese digital data center, a design library, designer service apartments, and office spaces

The exterior of the building is black, but the interior elevations are transparent glass like a crystal inside a stone. This composition presents a poised cool outward appearance, but with an inner vivid clarity. The interior spaces are full of public terraces where “designers interaction spaces” are to be contained. The terraces and bridges can also be used as a cafeteria, exhibition space, and/or inner green space. In addition, the plan is flexible enough to adapt to different sized offices with adequate daylight

The idea for the landscape is to create a looped path which portrays, in chronological order, the milestones throughout the history of industrial design. This path morphs into a ramp within the building leading to the top of the roof symbolizing the pursuit for the elite in the field of industrial design.

Half of the site is naturally landscaped to provide more open space for the city. The landscape design will also lead people toward the river side and revitalize the beauty of the river. The pedestrian path is integrated with the building initiating dialogue between the interior space, the nature outside, and the local history.

The Ningbo Industrial Design & Creative Center will not only become a new landmark of Ningbo, China, but also bridge local history and values with international significance through creativity in design.

Location : Ningbo, Zhejiang , China

Site area: 78,000㎡

Building coverage : 147,770㎡

Design Period: 2008.06

Const. Period: 2008.06

類別: Paper Architecture

Share This:

寧波工業設計創意街區

從歷史看過去 從設計看未來

寧波工業設計創意街區位於寧波甬江邊上,孕育交織著寧波城市的過去未來、自然景觀、人文歷史之穿流。

故事從過去工業發展的歷史為起點,穿越歷史軸線到江邊的工業設計主題展場,往北轉向紡織廠遺跡帶出工業設計年表的景觀軸線綠帶,再向未來出發….動線回到寧波工業設計創意街區的三角制高點,象徵的是追求卓越的決心及邁向國際舞台的企圖,在這個歷史無形的迴流裡,我們從歷史中看見的是寧波的未來,是一個高度的提升。 園區南向的開放緩坡將人向上提昇進入核心的國際設計展覽中心,引領寧波工業設計產業與國際接軌。 展覽中心入口意象融合了歷史的深度、濱江的景觀以及設計的精神。

黑色透明建築體外冷內熱,內部醞釀著充滿無限生命力的半戶外的中庭空間,提供的是一個交流的平台,亦是展覽、亦是休憩、亦是設計。各棟辦公空間裡,可藉由彈性的平面空間,有空中花園綠意及中庭提供的雙面採光,創造出具優質及創意的工作空間。

全區建築群體的構架,以一個橫向向上提升的設計,延續及呼應書城、漁輪的濱江天際線,帶給寧波城市一個極具獨特的都市景觀價值。集中量體的開發,不僅提供給市民一個更大的綠帶空間活化觀光資源,亦提供一個未來發展的可能性。

寧波工業設計創意街區是一個與國際接軌的舞台,他的創意及建築設計不僅可豐富寧波的城市價值,更將這個極具江南之美的城市,推向國際舞台,展現她獨特的魅力及深度。

座落地點: 寧波市

基地面積: 78,000㎡

建築面積: 147,770㎡ (A+B1,2+C1,2+PARK)

設計時間: 2008.06

施工時間: 2008.06

類別: 紙上建築

Share This: